Home Latest NewsPolitics Raila Hits Back At President Ruto Over His Outburst On Cherera Four

Raila Hits Back At President Ruto Over His Outburst On Cherera Four

by Mustafa Juma

Azimio la Umoja-One Kenya coalition party leader Raila Odinga has hit back at President William Ruto over his outburst on the four embattled IEBC commissioners.

President Ruto Friday morning through his official Twitter account had told off Raila for coming to the defence of IEBC vice-chairperson Juliana Cherera, Francis Mathenge, Irene Masit and Justus Nyang’aya who are staring at an ouster.

Ruto attacked Raila and his Azimio team terming them as “the lords of impunity who destroyed oversight institutions using the handshake”.

Ruto further told the opposition to allow the parliament to hold rogue officials to account.

“The lords of impunity,who destroyed oversight institutions using the handshake fraud,should allow parliament to hold rogue officials who put the nation in danger by subverting the democratic will of the people to be held to account. New order is RULE of LAW not wishes of big men,” Ruto tweeted.

ALSO READ  Speculations arise as Uhuru, Ruto plan separate tours in Murang'a on same day

The four commissioners differed with IEBC chairman Wafula Chebukati following the August 2022 general elections when they held a different press conference at Serena Hotel.

Raila who was in the chambers where the Justice and Legal Affairs Committee of the National Assembly began hearing petitions filed against the embattled commissioners said the petitions against them. has other motives.

According to Raila, the ouster process has kicked off while an existing petition in the National Assembly to remove IEBC chairperson Wafula Chebukati has not been tabled.

In response to Ruto’s tweet, Raila has said the opposition will not relent.

“There is due process and natural justice, things aren’t just done at the whims of the executive. The rule of law must prevail and not your jungle laws that you want to institute so as to subjugate Kenyans to a conveyor belt system of elections come 2027. We shall not relent,” he tweeted.

ALSO READ  IEBC Commissioner Boya Molu, David Sankok Shortlisted For PS Jobs In New Revised List

You may also like

Leave a Comment