Home Tags Posts tagged with "Principal Secretaries"

Principal Secretaries

President William Ruto Wednesday morning hosted the Kenya Kwanza parliamentary group meeting at State House Nairobi.

During the 7am meeting, the UDA MPs were told that the ongoing vetting of Principal Secretaries has been temporarily suspended due to the court order obtained by LSK on Tuesday.

The Employment Labour Relations Court (ELRC) on Tuesday, November 15, issued orders restraining the National Assembly from vetting Permanent Secretaries (PS) nominated by President Ruto.

Justice Nzioki Makau ruled that the process be suspended until the hearing and determination of the application slated for Monday, November 21. 

Justice Nzioki barred the Principal Secretary nominees from appearing before Members of Parliament from various committees. 

Also, in the filed case, the Law Society of Kenya has challenged the list of nominees, arguing that it lacks gender, ethnic and regional balance.

Ruto during the State House meeting also told UDA MPs to focus on delivery and avoid “pushing for selfish and self-serving legislation like changing the Constitution to remove term limits.”

The meeting called by the President Ruto comes amid intensified lobby for the five slots for the East African Legislative Assembly (EALA) membership.

0 comment
0 FacebookTwitterPinterestLinkedinTumblrWhatsappTelegramEmail

The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) commissioner Boya Molu is among the shortlisted candidates for Principal Secretaries jobs.

This is after the Public Service Commission (PSC) revised the list it had published on Friday, to include 108 names that were not on the initial list.

PSC had published 477 names in the initial shortlist but after revision, 585 names were published.

Boya Molu’s name features at number 396.

Former nominated MP David Sankok has also made it to the new list. Also included in the list was former Kisauni MP Ali Mbogo.

Former executive director of Kenya’s Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs) Board, Fazul Mohamed, was also included in the new list.

PSC explained that it cancelled the list published on Friday, October 7, to make the process more inclusive.

See the full list below.

0 comment
0 FacebookTwitterPinterestLinkedinTumblrWhatsappTelegramEmail

The Public Service Commission (PSC) has published the names of 477 shortlisted from 9,154 applicants who had shown interest in the positions of Principal Secretaries.

However, the names of politicians who lost in the just concluded August 2022 general election have dominated the list.

They include a section of the poll losers and close allies of President William Ruto who are perhaps looking for a reward for the role they played in the head of state’s State House journey.

They include former Lang’ata MP Nixon Korir and his Kiminini counterpart Chris Wamalwa.

ODM’s Felix Oduor alias Jalang’o garnered 38, 948 votes while Mr Korir who was defending his seat for a second term on United Democratic Alliance (UDA) polled 36,836 votes.

Wamalwa who was eyeing the Trans Nzoia gubernatorial seat on Ford Kenya lost to Governor George Natembeya who vied on the Democratic Action Party of Kenya (DAP-K).

Mr Natembeya received 158,919 votes, and his competitor Dr Wamalwa came in second with 79,020 votes.

Former Narok Governor Samuel Tunai who vied for the senatorial seat on UDA and lost to ODM’s Ledama Olekina has also been shortlisted.

Mr Tunai got 117, 869 votes against 135, 180 votes of Senator Olekina.

Former Wajir West MP Ahmed Kolosh and former Isiolo Woman Representative Rehema Jaldesa have also found their way into the list.

Former Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission (EACC) boss Halakhe Waqo who vied for Isiolo gubernatorial seat on ODM and lost is also on the list as well as Francis Meja who lost during the UDA nominations for the Kajiado governor seat in April.

Other poll losers include Veska Kangogo and former Kericho Deputy Governor Lily Ngok.

0 comment
0 FacebookTwitterPinterestLinkedinTumblrWhatsappTelegramEmail